« The SBS-EM Teaching Awards aim to bring the School’s pedagogical strategy to the fore and to further deploy it through new projects, while also improving the international academic competitiveness of the Faculty’s members », explains Audrey Beghon, Pedagogical Advisor.

Following the School’s Scheme

The SBS-EM Teaching Awards were created to encourage teachers’ initiatives which take a « collective approach » and/or which favour « the learning of transferable skills » – the two cornerstones of the School’s strategy. It was after a thorough analysis of the SBS-EM stakeholders’ needs that the decanal team defined its pedagogical strategy for 2018-2022. « Under our new strategy, the concepts of collectivity and transferability have been placed in the forefront. A collective approach refers to collaboration developed among teachers in order to explicitly situate each teaching unit in relation to common learning objectives, whether at the programme or project level; transferable skills are essentially general skills which are developed across all program disciplines and which are useful in a variety of professional situations (e.g., critical thinking, effective written communication, analytical rigour, etc.), » explains Audrey Beghon.

Audrey Beghon, Pedagogical Advisor
Audrey Beghon, Pedagogical Advisor

Showcasing the SBS-EM Teaching Awards

The visibility of the SBS-EM Teaching Awards is vital to ensuring their prestige and enhancing the School’s international reputation. In this regard, Audrey Beghon stressed that « the visibility of the prize concerns above all the Faculty’s stakeholders. As a result, its local roots and the fact that there are 4 categories make the prize accessible to a large number of candidates, while maintaining a high-level of quality criteria ». When asked about the means deployed to develop communication about the Awards, the pedagogical advisor explains that « first of all, the results will be announced via our internal newsletter right after the selection of the winners (in May) and secondly, there will be an official presentation of the prizes during the graduation ceremony (October) ». She went on to state
that the reputation of the SBS-EM Teaching Awards also depends on their legitimacy within the institution, which requires that the Jury ensure that each body (Academic, Scientific and Student) feels involved in the process and that all teachers have the same chance of being nominated. To do this, « we collected feedback from the different stakeholders at the end of the first edition. The feedback will allow us to clarify and improve the nomination and selection process », she stated.

The Jury’s selection process

As a pedagogical advisor, Audrey Beghon’s role in the selection process was twofold: on the one hand, she had to define the criteria for evaluating the applications in relation to the pedagogical strategy of the Faculty, and on the other hand to formalize the initiative by carrying out consultations within the Faculty and comparing it with what has been done elsewhere. She shared an important point of the selection process with us: the fact that the votes were organised by category (Junior, Senior, TA and Team). « This is a secret vote by each member of the jury, she said. But there were two exceptions in this round: for the ‘Senior’ category, since Martine George was both a candidate and member of the jury, she did not participate in the discussion or vote. The same was true for the ‘Team’ category with Bram De Rock. »

SBS-EM Teaching Awards: the Winners in the First Edition

  • For the first edition, the winner of the Junior category Award is John van der Linden, for the metacognitive dimension of his consulting project with students of the strategy field project. Most notably, he has incorporated a peer feedback system, the learning effectiveness of which has been praised by the students.
  • Martine George won the Senior category Award, in recognition of the advanced group work system she has set up, and which is based on the link between data science and strategy.
  • The Teaching Assistant Award was given to Robin de Gernier for having developed, at the pedagogical and technical levels, a system for the continuous evaluation of students, an approach that reinforces their learning autonomy.
  • Finally, within the « Team » category, the winners are both Estelle Cantillon‘s team for its sustainable development education project involving 14 teachers and 6 assistants, and the team of Thomas Demuynck, Bram De Rock and Marjorie Gassner for its project integrating microeconomics and mathematics courses.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here